DEREK RIDGERS: THE DARK CARNIVAL

CrystaleSkinTwo84_a_-588x888

via Hunger

Words by  Derek Ridgers:

”It didn’t start out as any sort of project. And I admit that my choice of clubs and subjects was never comprehensive, anything but. I only ever went to those clubs that I knew attracted the sort of clientele that would want to be photographed. The peacocks and the show-offs and the kind of people that I could never have been myself (but might secretly have always wanted to be).

I started out photographing punks and teddy boys. Then skinheads and new romantics. I was never quite able to stop myself. It became a kind of compulsion, my life’s work almost.

My quest to record London’s dark carnival of vibrant and interesting young people has now stretched across five decades. Whether I’ll continue, I don’t know but I would not bet against it.”

ClaudineRUB-2001_a_-588x884

John_TG_Sept2012-1-copy-588x882

Peter-aka-Kathy_SkinTwo1983_a_-588x870

(The Dark Carnival is published by Carpet Bombing Publishing)

 

 

Leave a Reply

