Iris Van Gelder’s fab fashion collages-The Interview.

Phantom_small

There is a strong sense of quality work that got me engaged in Iris Van Gelder’s world of fashion collages.Impeccable style,witty combinations and the actual ”rebirth” of each image being collage-d were more than enough reasons to interview her,the Sybilia way..Enjoy!

-What mostly influenced you to get involved with fashion/art?

When I was a little girl my mother took me to museums and art galleries. This is what sparked my interest in Surrealism. Fashion was also a big part of my up bringing and I was already reading fashion bibles such as Vogue from a very young age.
During my studies I did styling and photography, but it wasn’t my true passion.
When I made collages I could combine everything I love and this is what makes me truly happy.

-How you will describe your personal aesthetics/vision?
My work is a mixture of fashion, jewellery and architecture.
The combination of images makes my collages very surrealistic.

– Is there something you ‘like to do/work for and haven’t done it so far?

I would love to work on ad campaigns, work with famous photographers on editorials and do (solo) exhibitions. I think there are a lot of opportunities I haven’t thought of yet. I’m excited to try new things and take on new creative challenges.

-Are there any contemporary (or older) creative that influenced you?

I’m fascinated by the work of Magritte. I love Yayoi Kusama, Marina Abramović and Jeff Koons. I’m not sure how they influence me but they are sure inspiring as artists and as business people.

Apparat_small

Groceries_small

Swing_small

All collages are handmade by Iris Van Gelder.For contact/commissions: fashioncollages@gmail.com

More here

Leave a Reply

