The magical world of wardrobe stylist Anna Katsanis-An interview

ELLE-154-Beauty Taka-2a

 

Proudly presenting Anna Katsanis a renowned wardrobe stylist with a signature ‘look’ or approach to fashion apparel that make her collaborations stand out for their innovating look and chic aesthetics.Anna Katsanis is a ny based wardrobe stylist whose interest in fashion came at a young age from her love of art and design. She received her degree from F.I.T in Fashion Merchandising Management & Advertising & Marketing Communications. Anna got her start interning under editors in the fashion departments of some of the most coveted magazines in ny. Anna has styled high fashion editorials for several international publications of Vogue, Elle, Marie Claire, Tatler, L’Officiel. Her naturalistic approach to wardrobe styling is inspired by making women feel that fashion is both approachable & wearable. She is inspired by all things glamour and a love of vintage fashion & design. Anna is currently the merchandise editor at IN NY Magazine. Her e-commerce client includes Century 21 department stores. She has worked with celebrities from Lindsay Lohan, Paris Hilton, Atlanta De Cadenet, Ivanka Trump, Li Bing Bing, Ezra Miller, Paul Dano, Bethenny Frankel, Elisabeth Rohm, and artists such as Natalia Kills, Cults, Sons & Keri Hilson.Here she engages herself to the Sybilia questionnaire-and we feel privileged for that!

-What mostly influenced you to get involved with fashion/art?

It started first with my love for illustration. I would draw portraits, and sketch fashion croquis and clothing from a young age. I attended the Cooper Union School of Art for weekend classes when I was 12 and was exposed to all kinds of art from 2 & 3 dimensional design, to large scale sculptures, painting, etc., which continued throughout high school. I was obsessed with art and fashion, which lead me to FIT.
One day a fashion editor from Elle Magazine came to speak to our class about her job and from then on I knew I wanted to learn more so I applied for an internship in their fashion department. The rest was history.

-How you will describe your personal aesthetics/vision?
I have a definite appreciation for cinema and have been greatly influenced by both movies and music. I love the 40’s, 50’s, 60’s, 70’s. When researching for a photoshoot, for me it’s all about the character, and who is the person behind this story. Also I love to approach styling that is both approachable and attainable for women. I love mixing more whimsical pieces with more chic/ classic pieces because I feel like women should have fun with what they wear and not take themselves too seriously.

Is there someone you’d like to do/work for and haven’t done it so far?

I would love to collaborate with photographers Sofia Sanchez & Mauro Mongiello, & Miles Aldridge. I greatly admire their work and vision & would love to work with them.

Are there any contemporary (or older) creatives that inspire you?

I am incredibly inspired by what photographers Mert & Marcus have done and are doing, as well Miuccia Prada. Guy Bourdin has definitely inspired me in my career as well as Helmut Newton.

 

HAL 131 - 133-1A HAL 131 - 133-3a HBKZ115-2 HD_fashion_Anna Katsanis-4

More info:

Anna Katsanis

Wardrobe Stylist

Represented by The Wall Group

Phone:(212)352-0777

 

 

One thought on “The magical world of wardrobe stylist Anna Katsanis-An interview

Leave a Reply

